Central London / Food & Drink / Foodie

OOooh Smack Deli… Lobster Rolls eat in or takeaway, just off of Oxford St

As it was a Friday and I wasn’t going out in the evening, I thought I could treat myself to an over average lunch.  Step up Smack Deli!  The lobster roll deli just off of Oxford Street, second left after Bond Street Station if you’re heading towards Selfridges.

So lobster rolls are bits of lobster in a roll…. a very light buttery white fluffy but with some crunch lovely roll… I don’t know what I thought, but, I thought it may have been different to this… I’ve had no prior experience with lobster rolls!

Happy Ending Lobster Roll from Smack Deli

Happy Ending Lobster Roll from Smack Deli

Lone dining made easy, just face the wall! #solitary

Lone dining made easy, just face the wall! #solitary

Check out the menu, I went for a Happy Ending, it was a little disconcerting to order.  It was £7.50 to take away or £9 to eat in, which normally leans me to the former, I play the hot food cold food rule well, eat in rice pots at Itsu, but not sushi, the mark-up just bothers me…. but the lobster roll was warm, and it was still more than the takeaway option…. oh, I guess they can do what they want…. anyway, I was checking the place out so I swallowed the £1.50.

They gave me a buzzer to let me know when it was time to collect my order, but as it was about 14.30 and very few people in the place, it went off before I’d even sat down.  It’s got quite a lot of solitary confinement type seating, so it’s very suited to loners, or easy to pull up stools for a group.

There’s a large area downstairs that also has a bar.  The prices for drinks are pretty reasonable at £4.  My food was very tasty and surprisingly filling, but it probably would have been good to get a side as well, I’ve seen another review saying the chowder is top notch and courgette fries?! love them.

The bath with booze in, Smack Deli's downstairs

The bath with booze in, Smack Deli’s downstairs

 

Verdict:  Can’t spend £9 on a roll on a casual basis, but tasty food in a refreshing setup at a location where a pit-stop refuel may well be needed.  The downstairs bar is a big space and I can see it getting pretty lively late night, good shout for when you are in need of some food but want to be quick and/or informal about it.  Another one from the Goodman Group who you can tell are really thinking about what works for the modern eater-outer.  Will be back with a friend to show them what I’ve found and add a couple of sides.

 

Lobstermaids, downstairs wall, like it, like it a lot

Lobstermaids, downstairs wall, like it, like it a lot

Square Meal

Leave a Reply

